2020 Caribbean Baseball Series Could Have Six Teams

Panama, Feb 11 (Prensa Latina) The president of the Baseball Confederation Caribbean Professional (CBPC), Dominican Juan Francisco Puello, expressed here on Monday the intention to dispute the Caribbean Port Series Rico 2020 with six teams.
In statements to the press, Puello said that next month there will be a will confirm if the next Latin American Series champion team will integrate the payroll of the Boricua joust next to the squads of Mexico, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Cuba, this as a guest country.

He also pointed out that the competition format could change and valued the successful development of the regional classic in Panama City.

According to the head of the CBPC, it was never thought of suspending the series, despite the reorganization of the event at the last minute after the withdrawal of the Barquisimeto headquarters due to the pressures of the U.S. government on Venezuela

Puello clarified that Panama’s entry into the CBPC as a full member will continue on the agenda, which also includes Cuba and other countries in the region.

According to the director, Panama and Cuba will not receive the money awards despite they won the series played the first years of the Tournament, at the Rod Carew Stadium.

The president of the Caribbean entity explained there is a contract between the CBPC and the Federation of Caribbean Professional Players, which forbids payment to non-Confederation nations.

He also acknowledged that work is being done to organize a Caribbean Series in the territory of the United States because it would represent greater economic income to the regional institution as a result of contracts with local television stations.


AddSearch News

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.